Dedication Recipient

Each year, El Tour is dedicated to a special person who has made significant contributions to the bicycling community.  The announcement for the 2014 Dedication Recipient will be announced in early Fall.

See below for the 2013 Dedication Recipient!

31st El Tour de Tucson presented by Casino del Sol Resort John Hewko ded recipdedicated to John Hewko, General Secretary, Rotary International

The 31st El Tour is proud to announce the 2013 Dedication Recipient as JOHN HEWKO, General Secretary of Rotary International and the individual who has raised more funds than any other in a single El Tour event – over $243,000 in 2012 for Rotary-PolioPlus.
This year’s honoree embodies the theme of El Tour … “Better Together Through Bicycling”. Rotary’s most notable current global project, PolioPlus, is contributing to the global eradication of polio. The main objective of Rotary is service – in the community, in the workplace, and throughout the world.

John Hewko is the General Secretary of Rotary International.  Before joining Rotary, he was vice president of operations at the Millennium Challenge Corporation, a US government international development agency.  An attorney, John was a partner with the law firm Baker & McKenzie, working in Moscow, Kyiv and Prague and specializing in international corporate transactions in emerging markets. In 1991-92, he assisted the Ukrainian Parliament in drafting the initial laws on foreign investment, anti-competition and corporations. John is a trustee of the Ukrainian Catholic University in Lviv, Ukraine.

Rotary International is a worldwide organization of more than 1.2 million business, professional and community leaders who provide humanitarian service and build goodwill and peace. There are 34,000 Rotary clubs in more than 200 countries and geographic areas. Rotary’s primary corporate goal is the global eradication of polio. Rotary clubs also develop projects worldwide, that focus on basic education and literacy, disease prevention and treatment, water and sanitation, maternal and child health, economic and community development and peace and conflict resolution.

Help us to honor John Hewko and attend the Dedication Dinner!
Details about the dinner and reservation form HERE

Here's information about the 2011 & 2012 Dedication Recipients

The 2012 Dedication Recipient:

The 30th El Tour is proud to annouce the 2012 Dedication Recipient is ANDY CLARKE, America’s leading bicycling advocate and President of the League of American Bicyclists!

Click here for the press release



2011 El Tour Honors Rahsaan Bahati
World-Class Cyclist and Champion of the Kids

Rahsaan Bahati – 2008 US Pro Criterium Champion, seven-time national cycling champion and founder of the Bahati Foundation.

The University of Arizona Medical Center 29th El Tour de Tucson presented by CenturyLink was dedicated to Rahsaan Bahati – 2008 US Pro Criterium Champion, seven-time national cycling champion and founder of the Bahati Foundation.

Rahsaan, a pro cyclist since 2001, does work through his non-profit foundation ( to inspire and empower underprivileged inner-city youth to rise above their circumstance through the sport of cycling. The world-class cyclist and champion of youth is the epitome of this year’s event theme, “El Tour…all about giving.” Rahsaan was honored at the Dedication Dinner the Thursday before the event.